BNL Athletics

Everything BNL Sports

BNL’s Allen named Coach of the Year in District 3

BNL coach Jeff Allen was named Coach of the Year in District 3 by the IBCA.

By Justin Sokeland

BEDFORD – Bedford North Lawrence’s Jeff Allen has been named District 3 Coach of the Year by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

Allen guided the Stars to a 23-6 record and an eighth consecutive IHSAA sectional title in 2019. He owns a sparkling 112-25 record with five sectionals, three Hoosier Hills Conference titles and a regional championship in five seasons.

Allen graduated from Eastern Greene in 1979, played two years at Vincennes University and two seasons at DePaul. He served as a boys assistant coach and a girls asssistant before taking over the girls varsity program.

Other state coaches to receive the Bob King Award include Crown Point’s Chris Seibert (District 1), Central Noble’s Josh Treesh (Distrcit 1), Hamilton Southeastern’s Chris Huppenthal (Distrcit 2), Oak Hill’s Todd Law (District 2) and Bloomington South’s Larry Winters (District 3).